Malaysia – Walk up to the Batu Caves (2)

Welcome back and following me on my walk up to Batu Caves.

Below is the the statue of Lord Murugan, found at the entrance of the steps; stands at 40m tall which is considered as the tallest statue of Lord Murugan in the world. This massive statue is a master piece of Indian sculptors.

20130804-140341.jpg

A shot right under the statue.

20130804-140353.jpg

The stairs up to Batu Caves…..

20130804-140400.jpg

Some people also come here to exercise especially in the morning and evening to walk and down the stairs.

20130804-140408.jpg

Did you manage to catch a glimpse of the monkeys?

20130804-140415.jpg

Right at the top of the stairs; 272 steps!!

20130804-140423.jpg

.. entrance of the cave

20130804-140429.jpg

Interior of  the caves.

20130804-140436.jpg

Follow me into Batu Caves in my next post. =)

36 thoughts on “Malaysia – Walk up to the Batu Caves (2)

  1. Can’t wait to visit! Great perspective with your photos. I’m currently stalking blogs that post Malaysia related travels. Trying to prepare myself for a later trip this November.

  2. I couldn’t believe the ornate path to the cave. I’ve been in a few in the US, i.e. Carlsbad Caverns, etc. but they seem to be a lot more natural. It appears Malaysians like a “grand entrance”.

  3. I’ve been to a couple of these cave temples on my travels – and they are also so spectacular. it’s really impressive what our ancestors used to do, and the length to which they went to practice their faiths.

  4. Visited the caves a couple of years ago, was a tough climb but definitely worth it. The portion of the cave where the sunlight beams into was especially spectacular.

    • Yup.. for a unfit person, it will be a tough climb but after doing it a few times, it gets better. I have a picture a portion of cave opening where the sunlight beams in. It will be in my next last posting on the walk up to Batu Caves. =)

  5. Pingback: This is a snap shot of what I see, think or feel |Welcome to a new friend –Just A Simple Guy | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!

  6. I love seeing temples and churches as they often give a fuller view of the country… and your great photos remind me of Sri Veeramakaliamman Temple in Little India in Singapore 🙂

  7. Pingback: Malaysia – Walk up to the Batu Caves (2) | Outlook in Life: BATUCAVES.com

Leave a comment