Taiwan – Tainan; 2 Days Trip on History of Day 2 (8)

Welcome back!!

Hope you enjoyed my series on my Tainan; 2 days History trip. Well, we are just only half way through this 2nd day of my series.

To get some of you up to speed, we are currently at Anping Old street in Tainan city.  Walking down this historical place and enjoying the scenic of old building and houses, and… and not forgetting the street food that are available here.

A shot of an old house of it’s window (panels). Yup, red bricks.

20140422-100011 pm.jpg

 

Locals and tourists walking in the street market.

20140422-100015 pm.jpg

 

Food time!!! Looks like one of the famous ones. How do I know? You can they have pictures of the owner with famous personalities that have throng to their place. Guess.. it must be good then. =P

20140422-100020 pm.jpg

 

Menu? Easy. If you do not read Chinese. Just point at the photos when you order. haha… that’s what I did. =)

20140422-100025 pm.jpg

 

This is their menu where you place your order by putting the quantity you want next to the item you like, then you bring it to the counter, pay and wait for your meal to be sent to your table.

20140422-100029 pm.jpg

 

hhhmmm.. what’s this? Toasted bread?

20140422-100033 pm.jpg

 

Yup, it is but it has chowder filling in the center of the toasted bread. Any guess what’s called?

20140422-100037 pm.jpg

 

Well… it’s called coffin toasted bread! Guess the picture tell the whole story how the name came about.

More food? Well… yes of course. Stay with me on the next posting to see more. =)

16 thoughts on “Taiwan – Tainan; 2 Days Trip on History of Day 2 (8)

    • Thanks for dropping in my blog. Yup, love the coffin bread in Anping Street and the rest of the other food and snacks there.

      Yup I did enjoy my visit to Tainan. It was more of a eating trip. haha!!! Each 50m was a stop-buy kind of thing. Had to literally skip my lunch and dinner with all the stops. lol!!!

      • Lol all my visits to Taiwan are pretty much eating trips, and I’m not too familiar with Tainan, but the last time I went was pretty much a food fest too and all my parents have to say about Tainan is its abundance of little things to eat lol. What’s your next stop?

        • Yup. Totally agree with you. Taiwan is more like a Food Fiesta Stop. It’s all about eating and more eating. LOL!! My next stop will be Japan; Osaka,Kyoto later end of this year. Cant wait for this trip. Still ironing out my itinerary. Any ideas?

          • Haha, I have friends who grew up here and have never seen the major sights, but have been to every night market within their neighborhood and know all the good spots to eat. The last time I was in Japan, I was 6 and was more interested in going to Disneyland than anything else! I hear those are beautiful cities to visit and more nature-esque than Tokyo.

          • Yup. Guess once you are a local in yr own country/town, you will only visit places nearby but once you are outside in another country, you will explore more and everywhere if possivle.
            All kids love Disneyland and maybe too young to enjoys sight seeing. When one grows older, the focus shifts from child fun to enjoyment of surrounding, history and not forgetting the most important thing, FOOD!!! haha.

Leave a Reply

