Thailand – Bangkok; Ride down River Chao Phraya (6)

Thanks for following me this far. We are more than half way through my series; Thailand – Bangkok; Ride down River Chao Phraya.

One of the buildings close to the Grand Palace. Not sure what building is this. Anyone knows?

20140501-015119 pm.jpg

Anyway.. let head inside of Wat Pho. It is a Buddhist temple in Phra Nakhon district, Bangkok, Thailand. Located in the Rattanakosin district directly adjacent to the Grand Palace. It is also known also as the Temple of the Reclining Buddha, where it’s official name is Wat Phra Chettuphon Wimon Mangkhlaram Ratchaworamahawihan. I also got to know that the temple is the birthplace for traditional Thai Massage. =O

 

 

 

20140501-015128 pm.jpg

 

 

View from outside the perimeter of the temple. Lots of vendor stalls outside the temple selling souvenirs.

20140501-015135 pm.jpg

 

Wat Pho is one of the largest and oldest Wat temples in Bangkok; 80,000 square meters and is home to more than one thousand Buddha images, as well as one of the largest single Buddha images of 160 ft length Reclining Buddha.

Some shots taken inside the Wat; Chedis from far.

20140501-015144 pm.jpg

Lovely architecture; close up of the chedis

20140501-015152 pm.jpg

 

Royal chedis…

20140501-015159 pm.jpg

20140501-015219 pm.jpg

 

More? Sure. Just stay tune for the next posting. Remember… we are just only slightly half way through this series only. =)

11 thoughts on “Thailand – Bangkok; Ride down River Chao Phraya (6)

  1. Lovely shots of Thailand. Not surprised to hear souvenier sellers congregating outside the Temple of the Reclining Buddha. Did they all rush you? I remember when I was in Indonesia people selling snacks and souveniers did that do me, wanting to follow me all around the sights.

    • Thanks again! Guess it is not only in Thailand but also in other Asian countries especially the poorer ones. I was lucky that I did not have them following me around. =)

      By the way how’s the ‘hot’ weather in Melb? I guess you must be switching on the air con on really low temp. =P

      • Lucky. But sometimes, the souvenirs people peddle do look quite attractive. I”m always tempted to buy their keropok snacks they wave in my face.

        It is freezing cold here, around 10 degrees in the day in the city. With the wind everyday, it feels much colder. It’s been raining and very wet a lot… I actually don’t use my heater at home. Oh, joy 😉

        • Yup; Souvenirs are always tempting else they would not be called souvenirs. =P LOL!!!

          Geesh.. I wish I had some of the cold breeze now as it is so hot here. Guess Msia and some of the SEA countries are facing the El Nino effect… =(

Leave a Reply

