Malaysia – Mid Autumn Festival; Moon Cakes and Lanterns (1)

Sorry to deviate from my travel tour from Malaysia – Georgetown; Continuation search for Street Art as I would like to share the current happening in Malaysia and also other Asian countries who are celebration of the Mid Autumn Festival. =P

While we are still the 7th Month Chinese Calender which also known as the Ghost Month, in Malaysia, the shopping complex are already selling the moon cakes and lanterns to celebrate the upcoming Mid Autumn Festival which falls on the middle of 8th month of the Chinese Calendar (19 Sept 2013) .

Moon cakes used to cost like rm5 per piece but over the years… due to the increase in the raw materials, the prices has slowly increasing till a price of up to rm20 per piece. The other is, the manufacturers also spent a lot of the packaging which so colourful.

20130825-224817.jpg

Then for the kids, it is also the fun time for them to carry lanterns and at night on the mid autumn festival.

Below is the so-call traditional lanterns with uses candles to light up the lanterns.

20130825-224856.jpg

Here are the modern lanterns that uses batteries and bulbs to light up.

20130825-224919.jpg

and.. to make it more interesting for the kids… all sorts of characters… even.. Ironman, Doraemon, Ultraman also available !!! lol!!!

20130825-224926.jpg

Stay tune for more……

13 thoughts on “Malaysia – Mid Autumn Festival; Moon Cakes and Lanterns (1)

    • Well you should try but there are a lot of different varieties as people are getting more creative with the ingredients. I have tried the moon cakes from Taiwan and Hong Kong but I still prefer the ones from Malaysia. Why? Well, I found that the Taiwan moon cakes are a bit on the dry side (meaning they use less oil) and the ones from Hong Kong are more oily but the ones in Malaysia are in between. Guess it is more to one’s taste and preferences. I will be writing a follow up post on this on the variety you can find in Malaysia. so.. do stay tune on it. =)

      • Thanks for your reply! I guess i would want to try one with an azuki filling. The jelly ones that come in different colors look really pretty! I really, really hope I can get to Malaysia someday, I heard the food is incredible!

    • Yup.. it is the time of the year again. Do you mean you can’t find any good moon cakes in Princeton, NJ? Guess it is the feeling and the environment that makes the difference; to eat together and to see the kids playing and walking around carrying the lantern at night. =)

  1. Thank you for stopping by and visiting my blog. I must confess when I tried a ‘real’ mooncake, I was not really that fussed. However I have since learnt through my travels that there are many different varieties of it and of course, as you correctly said their wrapping is just as important. I really enjoyed coming in here as it is very colourful! I look forward to reading many more of your posts! 🙂 Best wishes ;-D

      • Thank you 🙂 I really enjoyed coming into your blog and look forward to reading more as time goes by. Just recently I was personally attacked on my blog for a post that I wrote and I was grateful that I could choose whether to keep it or not. It was hurtful and demeaning that it kind of knocked me back a bit. But then a ‘follower’ of mine wrote and told me how much she enjoyed my blog and to continue writing. It has given me that much needed boost as it made me write even more. I look forward to reading more of yours in the weeks ahead. 🙂

    • Actually Malaysia is a multi-racial country. Muslim is one of them. We have Chinese and also Indians living here (2nd and 3rd generation who are born in Malaysia) too who are Malaysian. That’s why we have so many celebration and festival celebrated here. Just to name a few; Hari Raya Puasa (Muslims). Hari Raya Haji (Muslim), Chinese New Year (Chinese), Wesak Day (Chinese), Deepavali (Indians), Thaipusam (Indians), Gawai Day (Festival celebrated by the Dayaks in Sarawak and West Kalimantan) and not forgetting Christmas too. Some of the Chinese festivals eg Mid Autumn, Winter Solstice are celebrated here but it is not a recognized holiday in Malaysia.

  2. Thank you for the visit … Hope you are well and safe as the weather seems to be demanding attention and taking the lives of many

Leave a Reply

