China – Beijing, a walk back in History (2)

Still inside the Beijing’s Forbidden City, let’s continued our journey.

Walking along the alley where the wall divides the Palace of Heavenly Purity and the Hall of the Mental Cultivation.

20130610-061432.jpg

This is the Hall of the Mental Cultivation
20130610-061440.jpg

Giant bronze cauldrons seen in a row. During then, it was filled with water; like the modern hydrant to deal with any fire risk.

20130610-061452.jpg

This is the Hall of Surpreme Harmony which is the largest hall in the Forbidden City.

20130610-061501.jpg

20130610-061510.jpg

Exiting myself at the Meridian Gate. At the exit, you can see the picture of Mao Zedong and a bridge which leads you to the Tiananmen Square – Gate of Heavenly Palace

20130610-061520.jpg

This is the Great Hall of the People. It is located at the western edge of Tiananmen Square, Beijing, People’s Republic of China (PRC). It is used for legislative and ceremonial activities by the PRC and the Communist Party of China. It functions as the meeting place of the National People’s Congress, the Chinese parliament.

20130610-061529.jpg

Me in the middle of Tiananmen Square overlooking the entrance of the Meridian Gate.

20130610-061538.jpg

This is the Monument to the People’s Heroes. It was erected as a national monument of the People’s Republic of China to the martyrs of revolutionary struggle during the 19th and 20th centuries.

20130610-061546.jpg

Want to know more on my journey here in Beijing? If yes, then follow me on my next post.

22 thoughts on “China – Beijing, a walk back in History (2)

  1. Seeing these photos bring back memories. I was fortunate enough to visit back in the summer of 2008. I’ll never forget trying stinky tofu and having to hold my nose while I ate it. Anyways, really nice pictures. Looking forward to the next post about your journey!

    • Thanks! China is too big and too many places to visit in a lifetime. I have only visited just a small fraction of it and there are even others places in China which is more beautiful than the places I have visited. Korea is in my list to visit too but just dunno when only. LOL!!

  2. Great photos! I only visited Beijing very recently in 2011…how I wished that I had gone there earlier, especially since I am Chinese. : ) Cheers, Mrs. J

    • Haha… Of course!! Yum yum… This was one of the highlight meals then but now you can practically get it anywhere outside China too and some, I believe would even taste better. 😊

  3. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing–I’ll be heading to Beijing with my program soon so it’s nice to get a glimpse beforehand. Also, thanks for stopping by and following my blog! πŸ˜€

  4. Pingback: China – Beijing, a walk back in History (2) | mieranadhirah's Blog

Leave a Reply

