Vietnam – The Trail of Hanoi (1)

This posting is of my trip to Hanoi, Vietnam back in October 2006. I have heard a lot of about Vietnam but just that I never been there until then when the low cost carrier Air Asia started their flight there, that people starting going there.

Our trip started when we landed in Noi Bai International Airport which is the only international airport and only airport in the north of Vietnam then. Hanoi is the capital and also the second largest city in Vietnam.

By the time we landed, it was already late and we were greeted by our local tour leader there. We went there in a group which consist of a few families. So it was practically a whole bus filled with a family affair. Lol!!

Our first stop was of course dinner at one of the restaurant in the city which I am not sure where but one thing for sure, the French colonial architecture style was very dominant as seen below and also the from photos from my later posting.

20130523-172523.jpg

In the morning, the noises motorbikes can be heard with hons blaring here and there.

20130523-172533.jpg

One of the lanes which I can across. (By now you would have guessed that I am a morning person who gets up early and go wandering around before breakfast 😊)

20130523-172545.jpg

Fruit seller on the side of the side walk…..

20130523-172559.jpg

Typical local food stall which can see on the inner roads where the local will go for their breakfast.

20130523-172609.jpg

A young boy having his haircut out in the open air barber which something you do not see often nowadays.

20130523-172618.jpg

Walking along the side of the street. You can some new apartments built to accommodate the increasing population in Hanoi.

20130523-172627.jpg

A slim building standing by its own which was also a common sight here in Hanoi and not forgetting colourful too.

20130523-172634.jpg

Took this shot outside a school there. You could see parents waiting for their children after school

20130523-172641.jpg

Demolition and clearing of old building to make way for new and bigger building which can be seen like anywhere else in the world in a developing country.

20130523-172655.jpg

Interesting? If yes… then I have more to share in my series of travel to Hanoi.

41 thoughts on “Vietnam – The Trail of Hanoi (1)

  1. Very interesting! Very typical Vietnam. I have been in Hanoi several times before on my business trips. I like it very much cause it’s totally different from where I come from (Saigon) even we are in the same country.

    • Thanks. Yup you are right. Vietnam is really interesting place especially when trying to cross the road. You really need to have the ‘guts’ to cross else you will never cross. LOL!!! I heard like you said Saigon is totally different from Hanoi. I may plan to go there one day.

  2. Pingback: Vacationing in Vietnam: French influence meets emerging Asia | Travel Sama

  3. Wow I enjoyed reading it. I hope I also get to travel when I grow a little older and when I already have a job coz I’m still 15 and ain’t got money right now. lol 🙂 Btw, hope you also visit my country, the Philippines. We have beautiful beaches and warm people here. 🙂

    • Thanks. Well you will get your chance once you are older and see the different culture and people all over the world. Yes, I would love to Philippines one day too as I have friends from there too. =)

  4. This is indeed very interesting. Thank you for visiting my blog and your follow. I think your blog is also interesting for me. I just reblogged your Opera in Malaysia post to Tumblr.

  5. What an amazing looking experience! I don’t know if I’d have the courage to go all the way over there myself, but your photos really bring the place to life on the page 🙂
    And thanks for visiting my blog!

  6. Hi, 1st time of visiting your blog. This post, amazing! I love the photos so much. These are photos of a modern Hanoi but they look like Hanoi many years ago. Traditional and modern. Peaceful and dynamic. Old and new. Thanks for your post!

  7. Nice photos and post. I just went to Hanoi last month and it was a really nice city. I think I liked it more than Ho Chi Minh City even.

  8. Pingback: This is a snap shot of what I see, think or feel |Welcome to a new friend –Just A Simple Guy | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!

  9. Definitely interesting! I’ve been to Ho Chi Minh and it’s quite interesting too, a bit different except for the street-ful of motorbikes. Food is great and the COFFEEEEE!

Leave a Reply

