Visit to the Wet Market in Penang

Before I post on my visit on New York City, let me share a post on a visit close by. This is a blog on wet market.

I love to visit markets anywhere I go when I travel; locally or abroad as there is where you get to see the locals mingle and haggle over things, and you can get to see all types of vegetables, fishes, and other sorts food which may be grown, made or caught locally.

Today I am posting on the wet market that I visit every weekend. This is to let my readers see the local activities in a local market in Penang.

This portion of the wet market; vendors selling vegetables, fishes, eggs etc

20130204-105109 PM.jpg

20130204-105128 PM.jpg

20130204-105143 PM.jpg

This is the other area; dry market where vendors selling all the dry stuff like onions, salted fish, garlic etc

20130204-105200 PM.jpg

Fruit stalls ……

20130204-105217 PM.jpg

Pineapple but these pineapple if you look carefully is slightly different. They are used for the Chinese prayers as offerings.

20130204-105234 PM.jpg

Vendors selling Ti Kueh (sweet sticky confection) which you can find a lot especially near Chinese New Year as housewives will buys these as an offering to the Kitchen God so when they go back to report to their superior, it will be sweet and good news. Lol!! More on this on my food blog.

20130204-105252 PM.jpg

20130204-105308 PM.jpg

12 thoughts on “Visit to the Wet Market in Penang

  1. Hello! I liked this. We plan to go to Penang next year and bring our students there for our annual trip. What could you recommend to do in Penang as some sort of secondary student activity. I’d love to hear your ideas.

    • Thanks for visiting my blog. Well Penang has a lot of activities. It has beaches for seaside activities in Batu Ferringhi. Penang Hill for those who likes to hike up and then, you can take the tram down from the hill. If you like to have a jungle hiking, you can stay on Pulau Jerejak which has a resort there. What else? Of course eating. Lots of street food to taste in Georgetown. Education? Well Penang has a lot of history where you can follow the Heritage Trail in Georgetown. Is that enough for you? =) If not, I have more places for you. =)

  2. I have yet to spend any time in Penang (I will though!) and this looks like a must see. One of my (many) favorite things about traveling are visiting the different markets in each country and city. Thanks for the great pictures! 🙂

Leave a Reply

