Penang – Celebration of Thaipusam (4) …. my 100th post!!!

Wow… I cant believe I have hit my 100th post in 3 months and have over 500 followers. Thanks to all my readers and followers for keeping me going. If it is not for you all, I would not have come this far.

For this post, it will be my final part on the celebration of Thaipusam in Penang. A matter of fact, in Malaysia, Thaipusam is also celebrated in a big scale in Batu Caves, Kuala Lumpur aside from Penang.

More pictures from the celebration….

Smashed coconuts on the road by the devotees..

Penang_Thaipusam4 (1)

Penang_Thaipusam4 (2)

You can also see that it is not only the Indians that come to pray to Lord Murugan but also the Chinese community too.

Penang_Thaipusam4 (3)

Penang_Thaipusam4 (4)

After smashing the coconuts, the town council people will be ready to quickly clean up the smashed coconuts aside so that the chariots can go through.

Penang_Thaipusam4 (5)

Penang_Thaipusam4 (6)

This is the silver chariot that is carrying Lord Murugan ….

Penang_Thaipusam4 (7)

Penang_Thaipusam4 (8)

So, the next time if you are down in Malaysia during these period, do come and join and watch this celebration. You will be marveled by it. =)

10 thoughts on “Penang – Celebration of Thaipusam (4) …. my 100th post!!!

    • Thanks!! The environment in Penang and in Batu Caves are slighty different. A matter of fact I have also been to the one in Batu Caves during the height of Thaipusam many many years back and damn… it was packed back to back literraly from outside till to the top of the stairs with people. Yup… it was an experience for me too. Hope you enjoy my other posting too. More to come. So stay tune. =)

Leave a Reply

